Dispatches From Exile: Music And So On

Cover Art

I sort of formally quit the gossip blogging business because time is precious and so on, and it seemed sort of silly to spend even hour or two a day writing about Hollywood Whores when I had better stuff to do.   But I think I will post now and then when time allows, or when pertinent and engaging gossip forces my hand.

Onto Music.

It’s no secret that John Frusciante and Morrissey are the big, life-altering forces in my life.   Morrissey’s music makes life bearable and John’s music makes my soul rejoice.  

So imagine my happiness-level when both of these beautiful blokes came out with new records not so long ago. 

I’m going to talk about John’s record, first.   Its called The Empryean, and he’s even started a blog to explain the record.  Wrap your brains around that one.  

Here’s piece of John’s brain from one of his blog entries:

 “The life giving properties that the suns rays contain is something we imitate ourselves, whether by smiling at someone or telling a joke, or singing a song. It is a human need when you feel something inside to express it outwardly. And that life giving substance the sun shines out is a lot like our own creative actions. The sun is telling us that if you repeat an action every day (like learning something, playing something or making something), the object of your efforts will grow and grow. Your ability to express yourself or to give to the world around you will grow with your persistence in doing whatever that thing is you do. And even though the sun appears to go up and down, having its process of apparently rising up, peaking, going down, and then hiding, science has taught us that this only appears this way to our point of view and it is circling around, and shining at full strength always. Likewise our own ups and downs just appear as they do to us. In actuality we are thriving all the time.  Everything we do is directed towards shining our form of light.  We couldn’t do it if we were just peaking all the time, just as life as we know it would end if the sun always stayed at what appears to us as its highest point of strength. A person could never exceed at something if they just did it once in a while, it’s a hint and half that the thing we owe our existence to repeats its rounds every day.”

 He’s a philosopher and I love him.   Even if that blog is fake and he doesn’t even know it exists!   If it’s the real shit, I wish he’d enable comments so that I can commnicate my love to him more adequately. 

The way I absorb John’s new records is possibly really weird.  I have to buy the actual CD at some place Like Rasputin’s Records in Berkeley.  Then I don’t listen to it for a few days.   Then I import it into my itunes and put it on when I go to bed.   

It’s been less than a month since I first listened to it, and I don’t even know the song titles or anything.  

The music feels like Church, and it’s beautiful.  

Here’s John’s own statement about the record:

The Empyrean is my new record and will be released worldwide via Record Collection on January 20th 2009. It was recorded on and off between December 2006 and March 2008.  It is a concept record that tells a single story both musically and lyrically. The story takes place within one person, and there are two characters. It contains a version of Tim Buckley’s, ‘Song To The Siren’ and the rest of the songs are written by me. My friend Josh plays on it, as does Flea. It also features Sonus Quartet, Johnny Marr and The New Dimension Singers. I’m really happy with it and I’ve listened to it a lot for the psychedelic experience it provides. It should be played as loud as possible and it is suited to dark living rooms late at night.
  
 – John Frusciante, November 3rd, 2008

Marry me, John!    

 

As far as Morrissey’s Years of refusal:  

The glorious Tiffers posted about this already!  I’m just here to say that Morrissey is a wonderful creature, and you should all be listening to his ass on a quotidian basis.

One thought on “Dispatches From Exile: Music And So On

  1. Janers

    It’s fun to make jokes abouts people u don’t know & and it’s fun to make people laugh. I’m glad ur gonna keep dropping in.

    I recently read an article about a model who tried to sue google blogger coz someone blogged nasty shiz about her. I hope Mirandingo doesn’t get any ideas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

